L-R – Jonathan Webster – Drums, Barrett Klesko – Vocals, Guitar, Bass

Degenerator, Edmonton, Canada’s aggressive sonic titans, unleash a captivating blend of stoner, sludge, grunge, and goth rock with their debut album “The Abyssal Throne”, which is streaming now. Led by Barrett Klesko (Alle Else Fails) who is joined by Jonathan Webster (Pass of Era, ex-Striker), this relentless musical force delivers a spellbinding sound that resonates with fans of grunge, sludge, stoner, and doom metal. These internationally acclaimed musicians set the stage for an immersive journey through explosive moods, progressive time signatures, and hauntingly unusual vocal melodies. Klesko comments on what’s in store for those who check the album:

“This album is a radical departure from anything I have produced before. It’s more somber, but not as heavy, as All Else Fails, slower, but also more profound than the Misfires, and though it has more order than The Secret Places of the Earth, it still keeps some of the mystery. I hope my fans can discover a new facet of my creativity and a new bond with the art that I make.”

Degenerator is a sonic experiment that Klesko conducted to unleash the noise that was haunting his mind. He wanted to capture the essence of retro The Smashing Pumpkins, with their saturated fuzzy guitars, but also add a touch of gothic darkness that he finds deeply appealing. Interestingly, they started with the drums and then built everything else on top of them.

“The Abyssal Throne” is completely DIY, it was mixed and mastered by Webster, and produced by Klesko who also did the album artwork and leveraged AI to create something that reflected how the music made him feel. It is recommended for open-minded fans who want to experience something new and who enjoy Baroness, Torche, Smashing Pumpkins, and Soundgarden.

“The Abyssal Throne” is due out November 24, 2023, and can be heard in full via its album stream premiere on Doomed and Stoned HERE.

Album pre-order – https://degeneratormusic.bandcamp.com/​

Music Video – “Eternalism” – https://youtu.be/Ad7o2rmB5vQ​

Music Video – “Neurotonic” – https://youtu.be/f-4FWtW9qdI

Track Listing:​
1. Eternalism – 3:42
2. Finality – 4:06
3. The Day That Never Comes – 4:39
4. Darkness Prevails – 3:58
5. Neurotonic – 4:46
6. The Children of the Night – 3:59
7. Hiraeth – 4:06
8. The Spiral – 4:13
9. Heart Like a Hole – 4:15
10. For Every Truth – 5:38
11. A Way Out – 3:52
Album Length: 47:14


Degenerator, Edmonton’s aggressive sonic titans, unleash a captivating blend of stoner, sludge, grunge, and goth rock.

Degenerator, the relentless musical force hailing from the underground scene in the city of Edmonton, Alberta, emerges from the depths to deliver a spellbinding sound that resonates with fans of Baroness, Type O Negative, The Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana and Alice in Chains. With their captivating blend of stoner, sludge, grunge, and a touch of doom, Degenerator sets the stage for an immersive journey through explosive moods, progressive time signatures, and hauntingly unusual vocal melodies.

Driven by a collective passion for pushing the boundaries of music, Degenerator boasts an exceptional lineup featuring members from renowned bands such as Striker, All Else Fails, The Order of Chaos, Tyler Dory Trio, and The Secret Places of the Earth. Their combined expertise and unwavering dedication forge a distinct sonic tapestry that both embraces and reinvents the spirit of goth and grunge from the ’90s and ’00s.

Drawing inspiration from the genre’s most revered figures, Degenerator fearlessly invites listeners into an enigmatic soundscape where raw emotions intertwine with thought-provoking lyrics. Their music reflects the complexities of the human experience, delving into the depths of despair while simultaneously igniting a raging fire within the soul.

From the very first notes, Degenerator launches audiences into a realm where aggression surges and anticipation fills the air. With their unyielding commitment to innovation, they flawlessly navigate intricate and progressive time signatures, resulting in a sonic assault that defies convention. Each song becomes an adrenaline-fueled journey, enticing listeners to surrender to the primal depths of their own emotions.

As they traverse the sonic landscape, Degenerator masterfully balances thunderous, distorted riffs with intricate melodies that seamlessly intertwine. Their music evokes a wide range of emotions, from seething rage to cathartic release, leaving no listener untouched by its commanding power. Fans of ’90s and ’00s goth and industrial rock will find solace in the band’s fusion of familiar elements while being propelled by their fresh and unrelenting approach.

Degenerator’s journey to musical excellence is further underscored by their remarkable accolades. The band’s members have been recipients of prestigious awards, including a JUNO Award for Best Metal Album, a Canadian Music Award for Metal Recording of the Year, Edmonton Music awards, and numerous other industry honors. Their track record of success serves as a testament to their unwavering dedication and artistic brilliance.

Degenerator’s forthcoming release promises to be a revelation for music enthusiasts craving an aggressive and captivating sonic experience. With their untamed creativity, unmatched musicianship, and a proven history of award-winning success, Degenerator is poised to leave an indelible mark on the world of alternative rock.


““Eternalism,” hits the thunder with a brutality that is of yet unmatched in its synchronicity.” – The Median Man​

​”The cut “Neurotinic” culled from the first half of The Abyssal Throne is likewise atmospheric and catchy. In some of its harder moments, there’s a sense of Degenerator The Abyssal Thronemetallic emotionalism that reminds of Katatonia, but by and large Degenerator — that’s vocalist, guitarist and bassist Barrett Klesko and drummer Jonathan Webster — keep the vibe geared toward a heavy alternative rock, not quite stoner or even prog-stoner, but certainly aware of and wiling to be led by its riff, and the melody of the vocals in hook digs into pop hookmaking without sounding ridiculous, and that’s something of a triumph itself. In combination with the sharper-edged “Eternalism,” the album-opener and prior single, it portrays the band as experienced songwriters at the relative outset of developing an already-broad sound.” – The Obelisk​

​”The Abyssal Throne is remarkable work. Consistent but varied, old-school but without exaggerating the homage, clear of production, and powerful of transmission. Like a Billy Corgan working in concert with the late Chris Cornell on behalf of a subsidiary of 4AD, DEGENERATOR opens its mind, and lets wander some symptomatic psychedelic diversions of the parentage between Black SABBATH and the Seattle wave, sometimes citing MILK, BARONESS, and other witnesses of an era of crossbreeding pushed to its extremes.” Metalnews.fr​