John Lönnmyr. Foto: Kristin Lidell. Fotografens namn ska anges vid publicering. Pressbild. Fri publicering.

John Lönnmyr, the keyboardist of The Night Flight Orchestra, releases ”Aftonland”. With his second solo album, he confirms his status as a deliberate composer and an equilibristic instrumentalist.

The instrumental album ”Aftonland” is a deep dive into progressive rock, channeling the 70s, with inspiration from bands like King Crimson and Jethro Tull, and a modern Nordic twist reminiscent of Opeth and Anekdoten.

John has played with jazz and free improvising groups like Monochromatics and Thymeshift. He is also the Hammond organ player for his blues trio Aunt Nancy and psych-rockers Divers.

Since 2019, John has been a member of The Night Flight Orchestra.

He released his first solo album, ”Ristor,” in 2020, which he entirely created with a modular synth.

”After fixing my old turntable, I gained access to my LP records from my late teenage years. I revisited a lot of progressive rock and expanded my collection with both newer releases and old masterpieces. At the same time, songs started coming to me and writing became easy and enjoyable. I arranged the songs with many keyboards in mind, such as analog synths, Hammond organ, Fender Rhodes, and Mellotron – instruments that I both love to listen to and handle.

With ’Aftonland’, I want to put my own artistry on the map. Beautiful melodies and expressive musicianship. And of course a lot of improvisation!”

Aftonland – album by John Lönnmyr

1 Ekipaget (the Coach)
2 Aftonland (Evening Land)
3 Borck
4 Traktatet (the Treadise)
5 Spjutet (the Spear)
6 Vargtimmen (the Hour of the Wolf) 7 Gycklaren (the Jester)
8 Nostalghia

John Lönnmyr: rhodes, organ, mellotron, synthesizers, bass, guitar, percussion Matias Jarlhed: drums (2, 5, 7)
Johan Björklund: drums (1, 6)
Pontus Torstensson: drums (4, 8)

Anders Brisman: bass (5, 7)
Elof Hanson Svensson: guitar (2, 5, 7) Thomas Rundström: guitar (1)
Kristin Lidell:t rumpet (6)
Maria Palmqvist: voice (8)
Per Laang: saxophone (2)

Recorded at Red Round Studio,Studio Katakomb, Smell the Glove recordings and Eternal Darkness

Composed, mixed and produced by John Lönnmyr Mastered by Hans Olsson at Svenska Grammofonstudion Cover painting by David Palmqvist
Photo by Kristin Lidell

Dedicated to the memory of Stefan Renström. Bandleader, mentor and friend. Available on vinyl, CD and digital on November the 3rd, 2023 johnlonnmyrkeys johnlnnmyr/aftonland