9 Songs For The 9 Planets Of The Solar System and One track featuring original sounds from Mars! 

Athens, Greece – Experimental musician and author Billy Yfantis, releases the Sci-Fi/Space album entitled “Entering the Solar System”. The album features 9 instrumental tracks composed for the 9 planets of the Solar System, plus 1 track called “Landing” consisting of re-worked sounds that were originally recorded on the planet of Mars by NASA. The album was composed and recorded in Athens, Greece by Billy Yfantis who used a mix of virtual instruments and field recordings. Each track represents the sonic aesthetic perception of each planet while “Landing” is the re-editing of sounds created by InSight’s robotic arm as its camera scanned the surface of Mars.

The Solar System was formed 4.6 billion years ago from the collapse of an enormous interstellar cloud. The majority of the system’s mass consists of the Sun along with the other 8 planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. The whole scientific concept was a major influence for Billy Yfantis who is deep into Science since he is an active researcher of the University of West Attica. Billy commented on the new release: “Although my Ph.D. research is on a different field, Astronomy and Space have always been my passion. I believe that it was time to explore Space musically through the path of the virtual music technology.”

“Entering the Solar System” Tracklist:
1. Earth
2. Jupiter
3. Mars
4. Mercury
5. Neptune
6. Saturn
7. Sun
8. Uranus
9. Venus
10.  Landing

Listen to the new album here:  
Napster: https://at.napster.com/artist/billy-yfantis/album/entering-the-solar-system
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/album/7AY7LQ27eJ37zidpbk68N8?si=Lt0-eJajQYq4fDyiIedrDQ
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrrNqKZOKdN-lJYufpqMWJA

Billy is already working on the creation of several promotional videos to visualize the Sci-Fi experience of the new album. In the meantime, check out a promotional video for the older track “Floating in Space” (The Noisy Whispers Compilation album) that was recently posted on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFYXic9xT1s

The new album features Space music with songs that vary from Film Music, Ambient, to Krautrock. The only way to understand the spirit of the album and visualize this interstellar exploration is to follow the instructions:
Grab your headphones!
Tune in!
Enjoy an out of Space experience!

About Billy Yfantis
Vasileios (Billy) Yfantis holds 2 Master Degrees in Information Technology and is a Ph.D. candidate in the University of West Attica by conducting research on e-government. Billy has been working on music since the late 1990s by experimenting with tape mixing and sound design. Billy is playing digital keyboards, but prefers to express his artistic dream through the electronic sounds that come from unusual machines. He has experimented with the recording of vacuum cleaners, electric blenders and other strange sounds that have resulted in musical releases. Moreover, Billy has authored books on music, business and science while from times to times he speaks about the electronic governance at scientific conferences all over Europe.

Famous Quotes

Krautrock legend Harald Grosskopf (Ash Ra Tempel, Klaus Schulze, Cosmic Jokers): “I always like electronic music made by younger musicians who consequently follow their personal instinct, rather than trying to copy what’s already been made in the past, in the spirit of: Whenever you meet Buddha kill him. Keep on tracking Billy!”

Tom McLoughlin (Director of the movie “Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives”): “I really dug his music!! VERY cool stuff!!” 

Phil Lanzon (Uriah Heep): “I like the track ‘Waiting for the battle.’ Great riff. I can see this as soundtracks to Psycho – punk movies and the like.”

Steve Whitfield (Producer and engineer of The Cure, The Mission UK): “This music is crying out to be used in films but at the same time it’s great to just sit back listen and immerse yourself in them without any moving images and let your imagination run wild!”

1. Entering the Solar System (Full album, 2020)
2. The Noisy Whispers Compilation (Full album, 2019)
3. The Mysterious Trip (Digital single, 2018)
4. Dust Not Found (Digital single 2017)
5. Crossing The Line (Digital single 2016)
6. The Electric Blender Session (Digital single, 2016)
7. The Missing Link (Digital single, 2015)

1. Is Prog Rock Really Progressive? (2020)
2. Hip Hop Goes Science: Volume I (2019)
3. Metal Goes Science: The Academic Metal Bibliography (2017)
4. Disadvantaged Populations And Technology In Music (2017)
5. City Streets Of Europe (2017)
6. Punk Goes Science: The Academic Bibliography Of Punk (2015)
7. The Lost Lyrics (2013)
8. The Commercial Exploitation Of Color As A Consumer Stimulus (2013)
Find Books by Billy Yfantis here: