📸Mina Karadzi

Swedish symphonic metal legends THERION have unveiled the first single, “Twilight of the Gods”, off of their upcoming album, ‘Leviathan III’, out December 15, 2023 via Napalm Records! With the new album, THERION return to deliver another masterpiece – fulfilling the Leviathan trilogy. With more than 35 years under their belts, the band around mastermind Christofer Johnsson is considered one of the most style-defining acts of symphonic metal. Down to the present day, Johnsson claims Swiss Celtic Frost and their way to combine opera vocals and orchestral instruments in the late 80s as one of his main influences back in the days, leading to THERION’s ‘Symphony Masses’ (1993) and ‘Lepaca Kliffoth’ (1995) to set the stages for the genre in the early 90s, followed by symphonic metal milestone ‘Theli’ in 1996.

“Twilight of the Gods” delivers the finest of epic and symphonic metal, finding a harmonious and balanced blend between guitars, choirs and orchestra. Join THERION on their versatile and style-melding musical journey, and watch the brand-new official music video for “Twilight of the Gods” below!

Check Out the Official Music Video for “Twilight of the Gods” HERE

The album sets off with the powerful “Ninkigal”, catapulting the listener directly into the dramatic universe of THERION with skillfully crafted compositions and operatic female vocals by Lori Lewis, alternating with grim growling and pleasing melodies. It’s followed by “Ruler of Tamag”, enchanting with a gentle acoustic guitar intro and lingering female vocals that open up to a fairytale-like scenario of old times. This then bursts into a heavy track with gloomy parts, building up to a fascinating score-like symphony. THERION once more draw charm from the courage to mix styles ranging from gothic parts to melodic death metal and neo-classical elements to power metal in a complex and versatile way, thus challenging their listeners. The songs are quickly engaging and skillfully employ catchy melodies, as witnessed on uplifting tracks like “An Unsung Lament” and “Baccanale”. Advancing melodies are combined with rock elements, captivating lyrics and choir parts, while lively “Maleficium” is structured around a duet between Thomas Vikström and Lori Lewis. Stomping “Ayahuasca” is a true musical journey featuring a male choir and psychedelic elements, while speedy “Nummo” offers splendid hard guitar explosions and the finest classic vocals and choirs.

Overall, the compositions lean towards the magnificent and theatrical, offering a high variety of musical styles while deftly blurring the boundaries of metal and classical music. With their newest opus, ‘Leviathan III’, mastermind Christofer Johnsson proves his incredible talent once more, and that THERION have perfected their very own combination of versatile styles – resulting in the creation of a symphonic league of their own.

‘Leviathan III’ Track List:

1. Ninkigal

2. Ruler Of Tamag

3. An Unsung Lament

4. Maleficium

5. Ayahuasca

6. Baccanale

7. Midsommarblot

8. What Was Lost Shall Be Lost No More

9. Duende

10. Nummo

11. Twilight Of The Gods

‘Leviathan III’ will be available in the following formats:

=> 6-Page Digipak CD

=> 2LP Gatefold in Black

=> 2LP Gatefold Silver LTD to 500 copies

=> Die Hard Deluxe Edition Gold / Black Marbled Album Cover Slipmat, Covert Artprint & => Alternative Album Cover Artprint LTD to 300copies

=> Digipak Bundle Pendant, Cotton Bag, Patch

=> Digipak & Shirt Bundle Shirt

Die Hard Deluxe Edition Gold / Black Marbled Vinyl + Album Cover Slipmat,
Cover Artprint & Alternative Album Cover Artprint – ltd. to 300copies
Christofer Johnsson – guitars and keyboards
Sami Karppinen – drums
Nalle “Grizzly” Påhlsson – bass
Thomas Vikström – lead vocals
Christian Vidal – guitar
Lori Lewis – vocals